Teen Librarian Toolbox
Inside Teen Librarian Toolbox

Graphic Novels for Middle Grade Readers, a contemporary reading list

Graphic Novels are having a moment, and rightfully so. Every tween and teen I know is reading graphic novels. I’ve talked a lot about them recently in terms of the benefits for readers with dyslexia, but the truth is that every middle grade reader I know is reading graphic novels. Particularly, every middle grade reader I know is reading Raina Telgemeier and the Real Friends series by Shannon Hale. So last week I went on Twitter and asked for Reader’s Advisory help. I specifically asked for recommendations of middle grade graphic novels that feature a contemporary setting that focuses on friendship or family for fans of Telgemeier and Hale. This is what was recommended to me.

You can read all the replies in the Twitter thread here:

Raina Telgemeier has a thread on Twitter of recommended reads as well.

Speak Your Mind

*