Teen Librarian Toolbox
Inside Teen Librarian Toolbox

Kicky’s Post It Note Reviews: Royals, Twisted Fairy Tales, a Rabbit, a Robot, and Pure Evil

kickypostitreviews

At TLT, we like to hear what teens have to say about YA Lit. The Teen has been doing a lot of reading lately, so it’s time for another round of Kicky’s Post It Reviews.

book7

 

Royals by Rachel Hawkins

book1

Publisher’s Book Description

Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with mermaid-red hair; a part time job at a bootleg Walmart, and a perfect older sister who’s nearly engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland. Daisy has no desire to live in the spotlight, but relentless tabloid attention forces her to join Ellie at the relative seclusion of the castle across the pond.

While the dashing young Miles has been appointed to teach Daisy the ropes of being regal, the prince’s roguish younger brother kicks up scandal wherever he goes, and tries his best to take Daisy along for the ride. The crown–and the intriguing Miles–might be trying to make Daisy into a lady . . . but Daisy may just rewrite the royal rulebook to suit herself.

Post It Note Review

Cute, but I still don’t like Miles. (She liked the book, but she doesn’t like Miles AT ALL.)

Editor’s Note: This book came out in 2018

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

book4

Publisher’s Book Description

A big-hearted romantic comedy in which the First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends…

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep’s genius granddaughter, they’re the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International socialite duties do have downsides—namely, when photos of a confrontation with his longtime nemesis Prince Henry at a royal wedding leak to the tabloids and threaten American/British relations.

The plan for damage control: staging a fake friendship between the First Son and the Prince. Alex is busy enough handling his mother’s bloodthirsty opponents and his own political ambitions without an uptight royal slowing him down. But beneath Henry’s Prince Charming veneer, there’s a soft-hearted eccentric with a dry sense of humor and more than one ghost haunting him.

As President Claremont kicks off her reelection bid, Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret relationship with Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations. And Henry throws everything into question for Alex, an impulsive, charming guy who thought he knew everything: What is worth the sacrifice? How do you do all the good you can do? And, most importantly, how will history remember you?

Post It Note Review

Absolutely fantastic, great representation

Editor’s Note: This book will be published in May of 2019

The Diviners by Libba Bray

We recently bought this book at a nearby book store because The Teen has read – twice now – Beauty Queens by Libba Bray and she is obviously a huge fan of that book, so she wanted to try reading something else by Libba Bray and she chose The Diviners.

book5

Publisher’s Book Description

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

Post It Note Review

Loved it so much and can’t wait to read the next one when I get the time. So many unexpected twists and a great ending.

Editor’s Note: This book is the first book in a series and it was released in 2012.

Tin Heart by Shivanun Plozza

book6

Publisher’s Book Description

When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants to do is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer The Dying Girl.

But with a little brother who dresses like every day is Halloween, a vegan warrior for a mother, and an all-out war with the hot butcher’s apprentice next door, Marlowe’s life is already pretty complicated. And her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn…

Post It Note Review

Not exactly my type of book but still good.

Editor’s Note: This book will be published in March of 2019.

Rabit & Robot by Andrew Smith

book3

Publisher’s Book Description

Cager has been transported to the Tennessee, a giant lunar-cruise ship orbiting the moon that his dad owns, by Billy and Rowan to help him shake his Woz addiction. Meanwhile, Earth, in the midst of thirty simultaneous wars, burns to ash beneath them. And as the robots on board become increasingly insane and cannibalistic, and the Earth becomes a toxic wasteland, the boys have to wonder if they’ll be stranded alone in space forever.

Post It Note Review

This book was completely absurd, but in a good way. Definitely the book to read if you want to laugh.

Editor’s Note: This book was published in 2018.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

book2

Publisher’s Book Description

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

Post It Note Review

Not really for me but good for people who want fairytales.

Editor’s Note: This book publishes tomorrow, January 29, 2019.

 

 

 

Book Review: Stand Off by Andrew Smith (Reviewed by Teen Reviewer Lexi)

standoffStand Off

by Andrew Smith

448 pages

Summary:

It’s his last year at Pine Mountain, and Ryan Dean should be focused on his future, but instead, he’s haunted by his past. His rugby coach expects him to fill the roles once played by his lost friend, Joey, as the rugby team’s stand-off and new captain. And somehow he’s stuck rooming with twelve-year-old freshman Sam Abernathy, a cooking whiz with extreme claustrophobia and a serious crush on Annie Altman—aka Ryan Dean’s girlfriend, for now, anyway.

Equally distressing, Ryan Dean’s doodles and drawings don’t offer the relief they used to. He’s convinced N.A.T.E. (the Next Accidental Terrible Experience) is lurking around every corner—and then he runs into Joey’s younger brother Nico, who makes Ryan Dean feel paranoid that he’s avoiding him. Will Ryan Dean ever regain his sanity?

Review:

I am supposed to be Joey today.”

For a sequel to a beautiful novel I did not expect it to be as equally beautifully written as the first.  But this book is solid proof that Andrew Smith has managed once again to capture my heart and squeeze it until nothing was left.

The way Andrew Smith writes is so perfect. He makes me jealous that the arrangement of my own words aren’t as whimsical as his. His description in this book draws you in and makes the whole book seem like a movie playing out right before your eyes. Objectively, his writing style is perfect for the age group he is writing for. Also, the subjects he indirectly writes about is refreshing and appropriate in today’s society.

There is not single bad thing i have to say about this book. I loved it all. Especially his continuous use of lgbt characters. Unlike in some novels i have read, the lgbt character isn’t seen as disgusting or as a focus for ridicule and jokes. Spotted John is rather a source of strength and confidence. Andrew Smith writes Spotted John’s character as normal as any other straight teenage athletic boy, except that he is not straight. His flirtations with Ryan Dean proves that even if he isn’t straight, he is just like every other teenage boy. His pressuring also is something that struck me as refreshing. His constant pressure on Ryan Dean brings to light the concept of Consent, which is a main theme in the whole book. This pressure on Ryan Dean highlights how girls feel when pressured into similar situations. Consent, i feel, is a big thing amongst teens and the fact that Smith addresses this concept proves his understanding of teens and of the main issues in today’s society.

Andrew Smith’s whole book is excellent and heart wrenching. I would legit read anything he wrote. Stand Off is 5 out of 5 books-to-definitely-read on the Lexi’s-list-of-books-that-will-make-you-toss-and-scream-on-an-emotional-roller-coaster.

Published September 8, 2015 from Simon and Schuster. ISBN: 9781481418294