Teen Librarian Toolbox
Inside Teen Librarian Toolbox

Book Review: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Publisher’s description

american-streetAmerican Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

 

Amanda’s thoughts

A book that begins with someone being detained by immigration agents at the airport? How extremely timely.

Fabiola and her mother leave Haiti and are on their way to Detroit to stay with Fabiola’s three cousins and aunt (her mother’s sister), but Fabiola’s mother is detained at JFK and Fabiola must head to Detroit alone. While they say they are just going for a visit, really their plan is to stay. Fabiola was born in Detroit, but went with her mother back to Haiti when she was just a baby. Now, she will finish out her junior year in this new city, with family she has really only known from phone calls, without her mother. Her arrival is greeted with no fanfare—her family is glad to see her, but she’s left to her own devices for dinner and puzzled how everyone just goes about their business so quickly.

 

Before long, she gets to know her cousins better and learns that they are tough girls who no one wants to mess with, girls who are fiercely loyal and protect their family. Fabiola has to figure out what being in Detroit means for her. She maintains rituals and beliefs from her heritage, but also learns how to fit in in her new neighborhood—one that is full of drugs, guns, violence, and secrets. Fabiola relies on vodou and spirits (lwas) to help guide her toward understanding what she needs to do as things get more complex in Detroit. Meanwhile, she’s also started a new relationship with Kasim, the best friend of her cousin Donna’s abusive boyfriend, Dray. Also, don’t forget, she’s trying to figure out how to get her mom, who is now in a detention center in New Jersey, to Detroit. Things take a dramatic turn when Fabiola begins working with a detective who is determined to bust Dray for dealing drugs. In exchange, the detective will help Fabiola’s mother get out of the detention center and get a green card. Wherever you think that part of the story is going, you’re wrong. The many twists and turns that part of the plot takes blew my mind. By the time I got to the end, the only coherent thought I was capable of writing in my notebook was “WHOA.”

 

Zoboi’s debut is complex and gritty (I kind of hate that word, but it gets the job done), with characters that will stick in my mind a long time. Though narrated by Fabiola, we get small first-person passages from all of the other characters, allowing us to know them more deeply. These passages reveal pasts and secrets, some of which will send you reeling. This powerful and well-written story of an immigrant girl’s new life in the United States is absorbing and unpredictable. I hope this finds its way to bookshelves in all public and school libraries. 

 

Review copy courtesy of the publisher and Edelweiss

ISBN-13: 9780062473042

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Publication date: 02/14/2017

Book Review: Hold Tight, Don’t Let Go by Laura Rose Wagner

Laura Rose Wagner’s Hold Tight, Don’t Let Go begins on January 12, 2010 in Port-au-Prince, Haiti at the moment that the earthquake hits. Two pages later, Magdalie’s entire life has changed. Her home is now a pile of rubble—indeed, essentially all the homes and other buildings in and around Port-au-Prince are now rubble. Unfathomable numbers of people are dead, including Manman, her mother. Whatever plans she had for her immediate future are obliterated.

 

Now Magdalie and her sister (technically cousin—and Manman was her aunt, but they are really the only family Magdalie has ever known) Nadine are living with Tonton Elie, their uncle, in a crowded camp in a small house made of plywood, sheet metal, and tarps. People are doing what they can to survive in this new and bleak reality. Then, just when it seems that things could not get worse, Nadine finds out her father is able to bring her to Miami, where he lives. Magdalie can’t join her, as Nadine’s father is not her father. The girls are hopeful that Nadine will soon be able to secure a visa for Magdalie and they will be together again. But of course, things aren’t that simple. Now, with Nadine gone, Magdalie feels more alone and dejected than ever. She tries to come up with ways to earn some money to possibly get a plane ticket to Miami, but there is very little work to be had, and most of the ideas she comes up with prove to be unsafe. She longs to return to school, but can’t fathom coming up with the money it would take to attend school again. For Magdalie and so many others affected by the earthquake, the question becomes not just how do you pick up what’s left of your life and move forward, but how do you do that when there seems to be so little to move forward to?

 

The novel covers roughly a year and a half of Magdalie’s life. In this post-earthquake Haiti we see devastation and despair mixed with small moments of light—a new friend, a visit to far away family, a first kiss. Wagner’s writing is lyrical and she excels both at creating characters and describing the setting. A glossary of Haitian Creole, a brief history of Haiti, and suggestions for further reading are appended. This important and powerful book should be in all library collections. 

 

 See some fast facts on the 2010 Haiti earthquake here

 

ISBN-13: 9781419712043

Publisher: Amulet Books

Publication date: 1/6/2015