Teen Librarian Toolbox
Inside Teen Librarian Toolbox

A Tween’s Eye View on Graphic Novels: Click, Camp, The Breakaways, Snapdragon and Be Prepared

Thing 2, Scout, was 2 when I started Teen Librarian Toolbox. She has longed for the day when she, like her older sister, could write reviews and be a part of TLT. This year, and what a weird year it ended up being, she finished the 5th grade. Now that she is entering the 6th grade so she can officially be a TLTer. Today she is here sharing her reviews of some recent graphic novels that she has read. Scout and I have talked here often about her journey to like reading as a kid with dyslexia and graphic novels are the format she has embraced for herself. So check out her first official graphic novels column with TLT. A couple of year ago Scout created #OperationBB  in which she works hard to make sure that kids get to own books of their own.

Click by Kayla Miller

Publisher’s Book Description:

A debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you “click” in school.

Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!

Olive “clicks” with everyone in the fifth grade—until one day she doesn’t. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?

Scout’s Thoughts: I like this book because it shows sometimes you need to ask your friends to be in a group instead of waiting for them to ask you.

Camp by Kayla Miller

Publisher’s Book Description:

Olive and Willow are happy campers!
Or are they?
 
Olive is sure she’ll have the best time at summer camp with her friend Willow – but while Olive makes quick friends with the other campers, Willow struggles to form connections and latches on to the only person she knows – Olive. It’s s’more than Olive can handle! The stress of being Willow’s living security blanket begins to wear on Olive and before long…the girls aren’t just fighting, they may not even be friends by the time camp is over. Will the two be able to patch things up before the final lights out?

Scout’s Thoughts: I like this book because it shows that sometimes friends fight.

The Breakaways by Cathy G. Johnson

Publisher’s Book Description:

Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds. Having never played soccer in her life, Faith ends up on the C team, a ragtag group that’s way better at drama than at teamwork. Although they are awful at soccer, Faith and her teammates soon form a bond both on and off the soccer field that challenges their notions of loyalty, identity, friendship, and unity.

The Breakaways is a portrait of friendship in its many forms, and a raw and beautifully honest look into the lives of a diverse and defiantly independent group of kids learning to make room for themselves in the world.

Scout’s Thoughts: I like this book because it shows diversity and LGBTQ kids.

Snapkdragon by Kat Leyh

Publisher’s Book Description:

Kat Leyh’s Snapdragon is a magical realist graphic novel about a young girl who befriends her town’s witch and discovers the strange magic within herself.

Snap’s town had a witch.

At least, that’s how the rumor goes. But in reality, Jacks is just a crocks-wearing, internet-savvy old lady who sells roadkill skeletons online–after doing a little ritual to put their spirits to rest. It’s creepy, sure, but Snap thinks it’s kind of cool, too.

They make a deal: Jacks will teach Snap how to take care of the baby opossums that Snap rescued, and Snap will help Jacks with her work. But as Snap starts to get to know Jacks, she realizes that Jacks may in fact have real magic–and a connection with Snap’s family’s past.

Scout’s Thoughts: I like this book because it’s just fun to read. Also, it had witches.

Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol

Publisher’s Book Description:

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya’s Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there’s one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she’s found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the “cool girl” drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol’s Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

Scout’s Thoughts: I like this book because I like going to camp and that’s what this book is about.

As a mom, not just a librarian, I would appreciate it if you could do me a solid and leave her an encouraging comment for her debut here. Thank you!