Teen Librarian Toolbox
Inside Teen Librarian Toolbox

Resources for Discussing the Rise in Asian American Violence in the United States

I hope you are all aware that there has been an increase in violence and hate crimes against the Asian American community here in the United States. Two days ago, a horrific and deadly spree happened in the state of Georgia. I have rounded up a short list of articles and resources for school and public librarians to help us learn more and find ways to address the issues in our buildings and with our tweens and teens. I know one of my go to responses is to use the tools I have at hand, which means promoting books by Asian American authors and illustrators, which I hope you are doing all the time. While I don’t believe that books can change the world, I do believe that they can change hearts and one heart at a time we can provide tools to help make the world better. It’s not a lot, but it’s a tool we have and doing something is better than doing nothing.

Standing Against Anti-Asian Violence: https://blog.workday.com/en-us/2021/how-we-can-all-take-stand-against-anti-asian-violence.html

Articles and Resources: General

Anti-Asian American Violence Resources: https://anti-asianviolenceresources.carrd.co/

PBS News Hour: How to Address the Surge in Asian American Hate Crimes: https://www.pbs.org/newshour/nation/watch-live-how-to-address-the-surge-of-anti-asian-hate-crimes

CNN: How Parents Can Help Their Children: https://www.cnn.com/2021/03/18/health/parents-support-kids-asian-hate-crime-wellness/index.html

Students Talk ABout Their Experiences: https://www.dailygamecock.com/article/2021/03/students-experiences-with-anti-asian-asian-american-discrimination-and-violence-news-bozard

Teen Vogue: Understanding the History of Anti-Asian Racism in the United States: https://www.teenvogue.com/story/anti-asian-hate-crimes-violence-us-history

NPR: Anti-Asian Violence Rises in the Pandemic: https://www.npr.org/2021/03/17/978055571/anti-asian-attacks-rise-during-pandemic-read-nprs-stories-on-the-surge-in-violen

Countering Stereotypes of Asian Americans: https://www.apa.org/monitor/2019/12/countering-stereotypes

Publishing/Book Resources

Kibooka: Kids Books by Korean Americans: https://kibooka.com/

Lee & Low: Asian, Asian American Children’s Books: https://www.leeandlow.com/cultures/asian-asian-american-interest

Is this one of the most beautifully illustrated picture books you will ever see? Yes. Yes it is.

Picture Books Written by Asian American authors and illustrators: https://www.pragmaticmom.com/booklists/asian-american-book-lists-kids/

Middle Grade Books Written by Asian American authors: https://readingmiddlegrade.com/asian-middle-grade-books/

YA/Teen Fiction Books Written by Asian American authors: https://www.epicreads.com/blog/books-for-asian-pacific-american-heritage-month/

More YA/Teen Fiction Books Written by Asian American Authors: https://readingmiddlegrade.com/asian-ya-novels/

Please know that if during this pandemic you ever referred to Covid-19 as the China Flu or the Kung Flu, you have directly contributed to the rise in hate and violence for our Asian American students.

If you are on social media you can follow the tag #StopAsianHate for more discussion, resources and places to donate.

Speak Your Mind

*